Review: Immortal City (Immortal City #1)

11443325

3 stars

This is the cover ❤

Title: Immortal City (Immortal City #1)

Author: Scott Speer

Published: April 3rd 2012 by Razorbill

** spoiler alert **

First it was the cover (how is the guy on the cover not hot, and attention grabbing??)
Second, the description, it was like the perfect book for me!!! I mean, it has angels, a famous person ending up liking…more The first time I read this book, I had rated it a 5. And I think I was a little too enthusiastic about it. Probably because this was my first book about angel celebrities, the cover is to die for, and I just loved the story back then. At first when I was at the library this book called to me.

First it was the cover (how is the guy on the cover not hot, and attention grabbing??)
Second, the description, it was like the perfect book for me!!! I mean, it has angels, a famous person ending up liking a normal girl, the normal girl hating his guts because she thinks he is an arrogant jerk, and them falling in love with each other even through the consequences.

But, when I read this book the second time, I skimmed through it; instead of reading it like if I wanted to savor every word of it.

Then I found myself rolling my eyes a lot, I guess it was because I didn’t like a lot of the characters in this book, considering that half of them were celebrity angels (and you know how stars act, with the paparazzi, and spoiled and etc etc; then the other half, are crazed fans of these angels, I mean when I read about them, I thought What is so special about them??? yes, there angels, don’t get me wrong I love them, but here they weren’t the angels I have learned about growing up, these are angels that yes, they save your life, but you have to pay for it and do you know how much that is?$100,000, and who in this world can afford that? That’s right people higher than the upper-middle classmen -_-

So, how is this fair? We don’t know, but everything goes into chaos when the famous Jackson Godspeed saves a mortal girl, that wasn’t his to protect, but he did it anyway because he loved her.

Wooooooow.

anyway, summary:
This story is told on 2 POV’s:
1. Jackson Godspeed: who is the hottest young Angel in a city filled with them. He’s days away from becoming a full Guardian, and people around the world are already competing for the chance to be watched over by him. Everyone’s obsessed with the Angels and the lucky people they protect, everyone except for Madison (who isn’t a big fan of the sort of thing, but you know she ends up falling for him anyway).

2. Madison: who is the one girl in Angel City who doesn’t breathlessly follow the Angels on TV and gossip blogs. When she meets Jackson, she doesn’t recognize him. But Jackson is instantly captivated by her, and against all odds the two fall in love. (DUH)

Maddy is swiftly caught up in Jackson’s scene, a world of glamour, paparazzi and murder (who knew?). A serial killer is on the loose, leaving dead Angels’ wings for the police to find on the Walk of Fame (because this murderer is going through the stars on the walk of fame and Jackson is next). Even the Guardians are powerless to protect themselves in the face of this threat …and this time it’s up to Maddy to save Jackson (because he’s next, and ironic how it was suppose to be the other way around?).

This book was ok for me the second time. So, if you want to enjoy this series, make sure you read it only once, or your thoughts will change the second time, because this book had to much detail that wasn’t needed, and it just left me frustrated.

I still have to read the second book…                                        

Leave a Reply

